Living life between the barrel staves in Bourbon Country

One Cocktail To Rule Them All

IMAG0443

Making every hour “happy”…

When it comes to irony, never let it be said that the gods themselves are immune.  How else then do you explain that the ubiquitous cocktail of New Orleans – and therefore of Mardi Gras – is the Hurricane?  For me it’s unfathomable that anyone nowadays can order such a drink in New Orleans and not acknowledge the very large elephant in the room.   Garden & Gun (a magazine I simply adore, by the way), appears to do just that in its current issue by offering up three variations of the classic drink by New Orleans mixologists without any mention of the devastation wrought by Katrina 7 years ago.  Maybe we’re far enough down the line now that it’s no longer necessary   Maybe New Orleans has crawled its way back to the point where such a reference would be out-of-place. I don’t know, part of me thinks that is not the case.  I suppose next week while I’m there I’ll get the chance to have my questions answered.

I’ve only been to NOLA once before – years ago – long before I joined the ranks of consenting adults, so the Hurricane I’m most familiar with comes not from bayou country, but from the low country of South Carolina where I vacation every year. I’ve written about it before, and nothing I’ve experienced since has given me any reason to change my mind.  The Black Marlin Hurricane (from the Hilton Head Island restaurant and bar of the same name) is simply the best damn cocktail on the island.  And furthermore, my riff on it is simply the best damn cocktail in my bartending arsenal. It’s not uncommon during warm weather months to find a perpetual container of the elixir in my refrigerator at all times.  It is a drink that scales well and can be made in quantity.  Truthfully, why in the world would want to make just one?

So while Garden & Gun has their variations, I offer up here my take on the Hilton Head original, along with some of its exotic “cocktail cousins” to suit varying tastes.

Read the G&G article here: Three New Twists on the Hurricane

My Riff on The Black Marlin Hurricane – serves 2

  • 2 oz Captain Morgan’s Silver Spiced Rum
  • 1 oz Malibu Passionfruit Rum
  • 1 oz Rhum Barbancourt four-year old Haitian Rum
  • 1/2 oz Amaretto
  • 1/2 oz Triple Sec
  • 7 oz Orange Juice
  • 2 oz Passionfruit Nectar (or Mango Nectar, or both for that matter)
  • 1 oz Pineapple Juice
  • Juice of 1/2 of a lime
  • splash of Grenadine
  • dash of Angostura Bitters

Hopefully since you’re reading this I don’t have to tell you to “pour contents into cocktail shaker with ice, shake vigorously then strain into tall glass filled with more ice”.  Repeat as needed.  The Black Marlin adds a little 151 proof rum to theirs. I prefer the aged Haitian rum in its place.  But in a story already filled with irony, the Barbancourt Distillery located in Port-au-Prince was heavenly damaged by the 2010 earthquake. Fortunately, the product is again being produced and – at least around here – remains fairly easy to find.

The Maelstrom

Make a Hurricane per the above recipe, then divide into two glasses (or not, if you’re feeling greedy).   Float a shot of Kraken Black Rum on top of each drink.  Personally this is my favorite.

The Baja Typhoon

There is nothing I can say about this variation other than it’s really, really potent.  Prepare a Hurricane but with the following substitutions:

  • substitute Patron Anejo Tequila for the Captain Morgan’s Spiced Rum
  • substitute Margaritaville Passionfruit Tequila for the Malibu Passionfruit Rum
  • substitute Patron Repasado Tequila for the Rhum Barbancourt

The Bourbon Street Hurricane

Bourbon works extremely well with the fruit flavors in a Hurricane.  Prepare a Hurricane but with the following substitution:

  • substitute Buffalo Trace Bourbon for the Rhum Barbancourt

I chose Buffalo Trace because it’s corporate parent is Louisiana’s own Sazerac company, so what could be more appropriate?  However you could use Woodford Reserve instead if you wished. The inclusion of bourbon isn’t as strange as it first sounds. Many aged rums spend quality time in barrels which formerly housed Kentucky bourbon, so the flavor profiles have some similarities.

Whichever concoction you choose, rest assured your friends will love you a little more for keeping them on hand.

IMAG0440

The saddest sight imaginable…

Leave a Reply

