Living life between the barrel staves in Bourbon Country

Cheers from San Francisco


I can’t say that visiting San Francisco next week is one of those “bucket list” items for me that everyone seems to talk about so much these days.  However, the chance to enjoy some of the best the city has to offer is hardly an opportunity one passes on.  What I now about San Fran could easily be summarized on the back of one those vintage postcards. The Golden Gate Bridge, Chinatown, earthquakes – that pretty well sums it up.  And while I’ll be there on business with limited time on my own, I plan on doing my best to see what the city has to offer, especially its bourbon and whiskey bars which The Bourbon Review so gloriously reviewed last year (the Summer 2010 issue for those interested). Being somewhat of an ambassador of all Kentucky has to offer, I feel obligated to see how our native industry is truly fairing on the West Coast.  Also I have a feeling a pass through Chinatown will be in the plans too, though I may be one of the few individuals ever to travel to San Fran and have absolutely no desire to see the Golden Gate Bridge.  Bridges don’t do much for me, not as much as food anyway.   I expect a follow-up blog post when I return will be inevitable, along with tweets of meals enjoyed and in progress.  For now, I’m looking forward to sunshine, cooler temperatures and a new culinary adventure.  Maybe this was on the bucket list after all.

One response

  1. Can’t wait to hear about your trip!

    September 22, 2011 at 5:38 pm

Leave a Reply

